Advice to the College

My advice to Brooklyn College about using new media:

  •  Consolidate websites
  •  Declarations & Overtallys should be digital
  •  Password updates should be optional

I understand that most of these problems are not Brooklyn Colleges fault and that most of these changes can not be made, because Brooklyn College is linked to the Cuny system.

In a perfect world I would not have to log into cuny portal to access blackboard, log into cuny first to enroll in school, log into webcentral to sign up for seminars, etc. I would like to be able to access everything I need from one website.

I can declare a major online, but I have to file paperwork to declare, or remove a minor. I also have to fill out paperwork and have the professor file it for overtallys. If we can sign up for class online we should also be able to do any class or program related changes online as well.

I hate having to update my password especially since it can not be any of the last four passwords I have used previously. I understand the security risks, and would much rather have the option of keeping my password the same.

One comment on “Advice to the College

  1. Your suggestions sound great! They address many of the issues I have also been encountering with Brooklyn College’s technology.

Leave a comment